An Introduction to Lexington

Lexington is located in the heart of the Bluegrass Region of Central Kentucky. Known as the “Horse Capital of the World,” it is Kentucky’s second largest city. In 1974 our city and county governments merged into one entity, the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government (LFUCG), creating efficiency and cost-effectiveness throughout government.

Lexington enacted the nation’s first Urban Growth Boundary in 1958, where new development could only occur inside the Urban Service Area. Lexington’s Comprehensive Plan, Imagine Lexington sets a strict minimum area requirement outside the Urban Service Boundary to protect the natural beauty and agriculture of the Bluegrass Region. Moreover, the Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) program protects farms from development by purchasing easements that prevent further development of those farms in perpetuity. The program is over halfway to its goal of protecting 50,000 acres of Fayette County farmland. These programs have protected large significant areas of farmland from unplanned development, encouraging the continuation of working farms and providing a mechanism to guide Lexington’s growth for many years. The rural area also includes roadways designated as Scenic Byways and many other planning efforts to protect and enhance Lexington-Fayette County.

Lexington is blessed with an abundance of natural beauty. Fayette County sits atop rolling hills of limestone laced with small caves and springs and is bounded on the south by the Kentucky River, which is the source of water for Fayette and surrounding counties. The river’s stately limestone palisades are home for unique plant species. The calcium from this limestone in the region’s soil makes it an exceptional equine nursery for raising strong-boned foals in thoroughbreds, Standardbreds and other horse breeds.